Circus as an Alternative for Street Children in San Isidro

The circus project CIRCO FANTAZZTICO run by our partner organisation VIDA NUEVA offers children and youths coming from poor districts of San Isidro, Costa Rica, an alternative to gang crime and gives them a new perspective in a difficult social environment.

“For me Circus is a philosophy of life strongly linked to aesthetic and ethical values. The experience of solidarity, freedom and tenderness as well as the total absorption in the artistic performance are all elements that help to develop a self-confident, emancipated and open-minded personality.”

Besides circus trainings in various districts VIDA NUEVA also organises public performances to motivate the children and young adults to participate regularly.

One clear condition for participating in the circus project is a regular school attendance. The project therefore also provides educational work and gives the children and youths future prospects. Through the circus, a social community and a safe space is provided for participants to spend their free time in a meaningful, positive and healthy way. The experience of the previous years has shown that the artistic project of VIDA NUEVA provides an opportunity to the children and youths to improve their physical abilities and their social competence. Thereby they gain self-confidence and develop independence as well as team spirit.

Through their social preventive and artistic achievements CIRCO FANTAZZTICO has attained a high national and international reputation, which gives the artists the opportunity to show their skills at festivals and tours outside of Costa Rica. So far they have been to Switzerland four times. This international success is a high motivation for all the children and youths that have found an alternative to criminalisation in the CIRCO FANTAZZTICO.

Kunde

CLIENT AAA

“For me Circus is a philosophy of life strongly linked to aesthetic and ethical values. The experience of solidarity, freedom and tenderness as well as the total absorption in the artistic performance are all elements that help to develop a self-confident, emancipated and open-minded personality.”

Zirkus als Alternative für sozial gefährdete Kinder

Das Zirkusprojekt CIRCO FANTAZZTICO der Partnerorganisation VIDA NUEVA bietet Kindern und Jugendlichen aus den Armenvierteln in San Isidro, Costa Rica, eine Alternative zur Kriminalisierung in Banden und zur Perspektivlosigkeit in ihrem schwierigen sozialen Umfeld.

„Für mich ist Zirkus eine Lebensphilosophie, eng verbunden mit ästhetischen und ethischen Werten. Die Erfahrung von Solidarität, Freiheit und Zärtlichkeit und das totale Aufgehen in der künstlerischen Darbietung sind Elemente, die selbstbewusste, emanzipierte und offene Menschen heranwachsen lässt.“

Neben Zirkustrainings in verschiedenen Vierteln werden auch immer wieder öffentliche Vorführungen organisiert, um die Kinder und Jugendlichen für die regelmässige Teilnahme zu begeistern. Eine Bedingung für die Teilnahme am Zirkusprojekt ist der regelmässige Schulbesuch. Damit leistet das Projekt auch Bildungsarbeit und die Kinder und Jugendlichen erhalten eine Perspektive: Mit dem Zirkus wird eine soziale Gemeinschaft und ein sicherer Ort geschaffen, an dem sie ihre Freizeit sinnvoll, positiv und gesund verbringen können.

Die Erfahrungen der letzten Jahre haben gezeigt, dass das künstlerische Projekt von VIDA NUEVA den Kindern und Jugendlichen eine hervorragende Möglichkeit bietet, ihre körperlichen Fähigkeiten zu verbessern und ihre sozialen Kompetenzen zu fördern. Dadurch gewinnen sie Selbstbewusstsein und entwickeln gleichzeitig Eigenständigkeit und Teamfähigkeit.

Mit seinen sozialpräventiven und künstlerischen Leistungen hat der Zirkus nationalen und internationalen Bekanntheitsgrad erreicht und die Artistinnen und Artisten erhalten immer wieder die Möglichkeit, ihr Können auch ausserhalb Costa Ricas auf Festivals und Tourneen zu zeigen. So war der Zirkus auch schon fünfmal mit einem Stück in der Schweiz zu Gast. Dieser Erfolg wirkt als Motivation für alle Kinder und Jugendlichen, die im CIRCO FANTAZZTICO eine Alternative zur Kriminalisierung gefunden haben.

Wer den CIRCO FANTAZZTICO live erleben möchte: 2019 ist die Truppe wieder auf Schweiz-Tournee!

Kunde

CLIENT AAA

„Für mich ist Zirkus eine Lebensphilosophie, eng verbunden mit ästhetischen und ethischen Werten. Die Erfahrung von Solidarität, Freiheit und Zärtlichkeit und das totale Aufgehen in der künstlerischen Darbietung sind Elemente, die selbstbewusste, emanzipierte und offene Menschen heranwachsen lässt.“